SDSU Women Face Tough Slate

The South Dakota State slate of games for the upcoming 2013-14 women’s basketball season may be their most challenging yet.  Half of the team’s 30 regular season games will be against teams that played in the postseason a year ago, highlighted by seven contests versus fellow NCAA Tournament qualifiers — including two No. 1 seeds.


SDSU opens the season Nov. 8 at Brigham Young — one of five Women’s NIT participants from a year ago. That contest is followed by a Nov. 12 matchup at Creighton (Neb.) on Nov. 12.


The Jackrabbits’ home opener is slated for Nov. 15, when SDSU hosts Georgetown at Frost Arena. That matchup marks the beginning of a three-game homestand that includes games against WNIT qualifier Northern Iowa on Nov. 17 and Pepperdine (Calif.) on Nov. 21.


Over the Thanksgiving holiday, the Jackrabbits are scheduled to travel to Mexico and play three games in the Puerto Vallarta Hardwood Tournament of Hope. SDSU meets Texas Christian in the tournament opener on Nov. 27, followed by games against Stanford (Calif.) on Nov. 28 and Florida Gulf Coast on Nov. 29. Stanford was a top seed in the NCAA Tournament last season, while Florida Gulf Coast played in the WNIT.


The month of December features four games against fellow NCAA Tournament qualifiers, starting with a Dec. 7 contest at Wisconsin-Green Bay. The Jackrabbits return to Frost Arena for games against Penn State on Dec. 11 and Central Michigan on Dec. 15 as part of a three-game homestand.


Other non-conference home games include a Dec. 2 matchup with NJIT and a Dec. 17 matchup with Northern Illinois.


The Jackrabbits continue their rivalry with Middle Tennessee State with a Dec. 21 road game before closing out thecalendar year Dec. 29 at WNIT qualifier Arkansas-Little Rock.


SDSU wraps up the non-conference portion of its schedule Jan. 2 with a date at Notre Dame (Ind.). The Fighting Irishwere a No. 1 seed in the 2013 NCAA Tournament and advanced to the Final Four.


Summit League play begins Jan. 9, when the Jackrabbits host league runner-up and WNIT qualifier IUPUI. That game will mark the first of 14 Summit League contests, which includes a Jan. 11 matchup with Fort Wayne to close out the first league homestand of the season.


Summit League newcomer Denver (Colo.)visits Frost Arena on Jan. 30, followed by a Feb. 2 contest against in-state rival and Women’s Basketball Invitational semifinalist South Dakota. The Jackrabbits and Coyotes battled in the Summit League Championship finale last season and will close out the 2013-14 regular season on March 1.


The remainder of the Jackrabbits’ 14-game home schedule consists of games against Omaha (Feb. 13), Western Illinois (Feb. 15) and North Dakota State (Feb. 22).


The Jackrabbits also will host a pair of exhibition games against NCAA Division II opponents Bemidji State (Minn.) and Minnesota State, Mankato, on Oct. 27 and Nov. 1, respectively, to tip off the season.


South Dakota State finished the 2012-13 season with a 25-8 overall record, including a 14-2 mark in Summit League play. The Jackrabbits won both the Summit League regular season and postseason tournament titles, advancing to the NCAA Tournament for the fifth consecutive season.


Sunday, Oct. 27    BEMIDJI STATE (Minn.) [exhibition]


Friday, Nov. 1  MINNESOTA STATE, MANKATO [exhibition]


Friday, Nov. 8  at Brigham Young (Utah)

Tuesday, Nov. 12    at Creighton (Neb.)


Friday, Nov. 15    GEORGETOWN


Sunday, Nov. 17    NORTHERN IOWA


Thursday, Nov. 21    PEPPERDINE (Calif.)


Nov. 27-29 at Puerto Vallarta Hardwood Tournament of Hope

Wednesday, Nov. 27   vs. Texas Christian

Thursday, Nov. 28    vs. Stanford (Calif.)


Friday, Nov. 29    vs. Florida Gulf Coast


Monday, Dec. 2  NJIT

Saturday, Dec. 7    at Green Bay


Wednesday, Dec. 11   PENN STATE

Sunday, Dec. 15    CENTRAL MICHIGAN


Tuesday, Dec. 17    NORTHERN ILLINOIS


Saturday, Dec. 21    at Middle Tennessee State


Sunday, Dec. 29    at Arkansas-Little Rock


Thursday, Jan. 2    at Notre Dame (Ind.)


Thursday, Jan. 9    *IUPUI


Saturday, Jan. 11    *FORT WAYNE


Thursday, Jan. 16    *at Western Illinois


Saturday, Jan. 18    *at Omaha


Saturday, Jan. 25    *at North Dakota State


Thursday, Jan. 30    *DENVER


Sunday, Feb. 2  *SOUTH DAKOTA

Thursday, Feb. 6    *at Fort Wayne


Saturday, Feb. 8    *at IUPUI


Thursday, Feb. 13    *OMAHA


Saturday, Feb. 15    *WESTERN ILLINOIS


Saturday, Feb. 22    *NORTH DAKOTA STATE


Thursday, Feb. 27    *at Denver


Saturday, March 1    *at South Dakota


March 8-11 Summit League Championships; Sioux Falls

*denotes Summit League game; game times to be announced at a later date


Recent Headlines

in Local

SD Retailers Dealing with Lots of Competition

shopping bags 2

While a number of stores will be open today, most retailers start early and stay late tomorrow, on “Black Friday.”

in Local

SD PUC Ready to Decide on Dakota Access Pipeline

SDPUC Commissioner Chris Nelson

The South Dakota Public Utilities Commission may make a decision Monday on the route application for the Dakota Access pipeline.

in Local

Freezing Drizzle, Snow Greeting Thanksgiving Day

snowy farm

Freezing drizzle changing to snow is expected across much of the area today.

in Black Friday, National

History of the holiday: Thanksgiving


Thanksgiving celebrations date back to the first European settlements in America, but it wasn't until the 1860s that it was declared a national holiday.

in Local Sports

MVFC Tabs Season Honors


The Missouri Valley Football Conference has announced its top honors and they include RB Marshaun Coprich of Illinois State; DB Deiondre' Hall of UNI; QB Aaron Bailey of UNI; DE Andrew Van Ginkel of South Dakota and coach Bob Nielson of Western Illinois.